Announcement of the First Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching

September 13, 1983

The President today announced the selection of 104 secondary schoolteachers to receive the first Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching. The awards will be formally presented by the President at the White House on Wednesday, October 19.

The awards program was first announced by the President's Science Adviser last January as a way to provide national recognition to outstanding teachers of science and mathematics in the country's secondary schools. The awards carry with them \$5,000 grants to each of the teachers' schools for use in science or mathematics instructional programs.

Teachers receiving awards are:

Alabama

Peggy Mullins Coulter, Central High School, Tuscaloosa

Mary Nell Gonce, Bradshaw High School, Florence

Alaska

Mildred Janice Heinrich, Robert Service High School, Anchorage

Sondra Dexter, Wendler Junior High School, Anchorage

Arizona

C. Diane Bishop, University High School, Tucson

David T. Smith, Townsend Junior High School, Tucson

Arkansas

Rudy B. Beede, Forrest City Middle School, Forrest City

Jo Anne Rife, Harrison High School, Harrison

California

Clyde L. Corcoran, California High School, Whittier

Arthur Vernon Farmer, Gunn High School, Palo Alto

Colorado

Vaughan Aandahl, George Washington High School, Denver Irwin J. Hoffman, George Washington High School, Denver