

Aandahl, Hoffman honored for math

by Kris Sullivan

Two of our own teachers at George Washington were selected from among fourteen nominations throughout the state to receive the first Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics. Irwin Hoffman and Vaughan Aandahl were among the four winners honored by Governor Richard Lamm in the Capitol on Thursday, September 15th. \$5,000 prize money will be awarded to each of the winner's schools.

In a recent article in the Rocky Mountain News, Roe Willis, who was on the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics committee that nominated the teachers said, "It's highly unusual for two teachers from the same school to win such an award, but we were to select the top two (math) teachers and as it turns out they are both super teachers."