

Science math teachers earn high recognition

Four Colorado high school teachers, candidates from Colorado for a national award for teaching excellence, were honored by Governor Richard Lamm and by the State Board of Education Thursday, Sept. 15, in Denver.

The names of the two science and two mathematics teachers were submitted as national nominees from Colorado in the 1983 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching, a National Science Foundation awards program.

The science teachers are Evelyn Ruth Bank of Westminster High School, and John M. Akey of Mitchell High School, Colorado Springs.

The mathematics teachers are Vaughn Aandahl and Irwin Hoffman, both of George Washington High School in Denver. Both Aandahl and Hoffman were selected by the national group as the Colorado winners.

"The state of Colorado can be very proud that these four teachers represented us at the national level. They are simply outstanding, exemplary teachers, the very cream. They rank up there with any teacher anywhere in the country in terms of excellence," said Manert Kennedy, of the University of Colorado School of Education, chairman of the science-teacher-selection committee.

A grant of \$5,000 will be given to each Aandahl and Hoffman to enrich the budget for science or mathematics teaching at their school.

In addition, they will receive a three-day expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., October 28, where they will be honored along with awardees from the other states, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico.

They also will take part in a working conference on precollege science and mathematics teaching and attend an awards ceremony in the White House.

The four Colorado nominations for the presidential award were made by committees headed by Kennedy, director of the CU-Boulder Center for Education in Science, Technology and Society, and Roe Willis, Boulder High School mathematics teacher and past president of the Colorado Council of Teachers of Mathematics.

Members of the science-teacherselection committee were William B. Cook of Colorado State University; Robert H. Alexander of Overland High School, Parker, Colo.; Frank O. Bowman Jr., Fort Lewis College; Paul A. Lightsey, University of Northern Colorado; and Faith Hickman, CU-Boulder Center for Education in Science, Technology and Society.

Members of the mathematics teacher selection committee were Marc Swadener, CU-Boulder School of Education; Naomi Rosenberger, University of Colorado at Colorado Springs; Arvin Blome, Colorado Department of Education; Barbara Curtis of Gateway High School, Aurora; and Vernon Smith of Littleton High School.

Fifty-six nominees for the science award were male and 48 were female. Most of them taught at the senior high school level with biology and chemistry the dominant subject matter specialty, followed by physics. More than onethird of the science teachers teach in more than one discipline.

The mathematics teachers selected for the award also were mainly from senior high schools and exactly half (52) were women.

CDE MOVED!

The Department of Education has been on the move for the past few weeks following a declaration that the State Office Building is unsafe and a danger to its occupants.

The Department is now located in the First Western Plaza at 303 West Colfax Ave., where the Denver Marina Hotel had been situated. The building has been converted into an office facility and the Department is housed on the fifth and sixth floors.

The mailing address remains the same: Colorado Department of Education, State Office Complex, Denver, CO 80203. However, the telephone number has been changed to (303) 534-8871.



Common Dishard D. Lamm magnific mot with the form Cale of the later 1