## Colorado high school teachers candidates for national award

By FRANCES MELROSE Rocky Mountain News Staff Writer

Four Colorado high school teachers are candidates for a national award for teaching excellence.

The four nominated for the 1983 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching are Evelyn Ruth Bank of Westminster High School, John M. Akey of Mitchell High School in Colorado Springs, both science teachers, and Vaughn Aandahl and Irwin Hoffman, both mathematics teachers at George Washington High School.

A grant of \$5,000 each will be given to a science teacher and a math teacher this month in Washington. The money will be used to enrich the teachers' school budgets for science or mathematics instruction. Winning teachers also will receive a three-day, expense-paid trip to Washington to receive the award.

The award program, sponsored by the National Science Foundation, is administered by the National Science Teachers Association.